COVID-19

Information & Resources

CAN continues to monitor the CDC and WHO for the latest updates. In the meantime please use this list of on-line resources to keep yourself challenged and learning while practicing safe social distancing.
Online Resources for Students

Host a Virtal Hangout – https://www.cnet.com/how-to/zoom-skype-facetime-11-video-chat-app-tricks-to-use-during-social-distancing/

Make Harry Potter Potions and Butterbeer – https://imaginationsoup.net/harry-potter-potions-class-experiments/

Learn to Code – https://studio.code.org/courses

Learn a Language – https://www.rosettastone.com/freeforstudents/ or https://www.duolingo.com

Create your own music – https://www.noteflight.com or https://musiclab.chromeexperiments.com/Song-Maker/

See how much you know – https://experimental.kahoot.com/

Cool classes like Pixar in a Box and Imagineering in a Box – https://ww.khanacademy.org

Weird but True – https://kids.nationalgeographic.com

Geography from Space – https://airandspace.si.edu/ex[;pre-and-learn/geography-from-space/

What causes our weather? – https://ssec.si.edu/weather-lab

Become a math wiz – https://www.prodigygame.com/

Solve problems in space – https://www.jpl.nasa.gov/edu/teach/

Watch live animal cams – https://explore.org/livecams (need a G Suite account)

Tour a museum – https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours

Learn Yoga – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XBnftTBmAk

Want to go to Disney World? Ride the rides at YouTube Virtual Disney World

Worried about the planet? Watch  https://www.youtube.com/user/smithsonianchannel

Why did King Tut have a flat head? See The Brain Scoop at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L54f8Ok1Z5w and other cool videos from The Chicago Field Museum

How well do you know…You? – https://choices.scholastic.com/issues/2017-18/100117/how-well-do-you-know-you.html

Exercise Music – https://hhph.org/repository

Read a Book – download the app SimplyE

Learn the Constitution – https://constitutioncenter.org/interactive-constitution (starting Monday, March 23, the National Constitution Center will launch a free eight-week series of daily live interactive courses on the Constitution)

Take a YMCA class – https://www.ymca360.org

Catch up on the news – https://cnn.com/cnn10

Learn Bird Calls – https://www.aaastateofplay.com/50-bird-species-sounds-they-make

Schoolhouse Rock – https://abc.com/shows/schoolhouse-rock

Learn to Cook – https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/packages/recipes-for-kids/cooking-with-kids

Stream an Audio Book – https://stories.audible.com/start-listen

Learn Sign Language – https://www.signschool.com/

Write to an Author – https://www.readingrockets.org/article/how-write-author

Upcycle empty Disposable Wipe Containers – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWqlOvJ0dxY

Learn to Draw – https://www.klinecreative.com/free-online-art-lessons.htm

Join a STE(A)M Club – https://social.oasismatters.com/

Take a Hike – https://vr-hike.weebly.com

Play Chess – https://www.chesskid.com

Create an Obstacle Course – https://playtivities.com/obstacle-courses-for-kids (25 ideas)

Escape from Hogwarts Digital Escape Room – https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSflNxNM0jzbZJjUqOcXkwhGTfii4CM_CA3kCxImbY8c3AABEA/viewform

Learn to Play Guitar – https://www.fender.com/play

Tour George Washington’s home – https://virtualtour.mountvernon.org/

Make a Chain Reaction – https://vimeo.com/395574009

Work on your Basketball Skills – https://medium.com/nex-team/stayinthegame-6fb1aac64ecd

Teach Your Old (or Young) Dog a New Trick – https://dogtime.com/reference/dog-training/34027-10-fun-impressive-tricks-can-teach-dog

Make a Scrapbook – https://www.canva.com/create/scrapbooks/

Other YouTube Videos:

TED-ed Student Talks
Crash Course (you won’t even notice you’re getting smarter)
SciShow  (science education)
Its OK To Be Smart (science videos)
Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems
Just For Kix (everything dance)
P.E with Joe (30-minute PE lessons)

Online Resources for Parents
General Studies

Khan Academy – https://khanacademy.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360040167432-How-can-Khan-Academy-be-used-for-remote-learning-during-school-closures-

Big Ideas for Little Scholars – https://bigideas4littlescholars.com (resources for gifted & advanced learners)

Freckle by Renaissance – app (math, ELA, social studies, science)

Outschool.com – https://outschool.com/ (Video chat classes by inspiring teachers, classes start at $5)

Top 10 Podcasts for Kids – https://learnincolor.com/top-podcasts-for-kids.html

Scholastic Learn at Home – https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html?caching

Smithsonian Learning Lab – https://learninglab.si.edu/ (distance learning resources)

Open Culture – https://www.openculture.com/freeonlinecourses (courses from top universities)
www.openculture.com/free_k-12_educational_resources (extensive web and home schooling resources in all areas)

Gifted Guru – https://www.giftedguru.com (learning at home and free resources)

Breakout Edu – https://www.breakoutedu.com/funathome (digital games in core subjects)

Education Possible – https://educationpossible.com (creative learning activities for middle schoolers)

Learning Hero – https://bealearninghero.org/readiness-roadmap (keeping your student on track)

Great Schools – https://www.greatschools.org/gk/coronavirus-school-closure-support/ (teaching at home, book lists, and grade based toolkits)

TED-ED At Home – https://ed.ted.com/daily_newsletter

National Geographic – https://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/classroom-resources/learn-at-home/

Math

Eureka Math – https://greatminds.org/math

Math Geek Mama – https://mathgeekmama.com (teaching math at home)

Language Arts

Squiggle Park – https://www.squigglepark.com// (reading comprehension)

Read Works.org – https://www.readworks.org/ (reading comprehension)

STEM

Experiments You Can Eat with Your Kids – https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/56625/10-science-experiments-you-can-eat-your-kids

STEM Lessons in the Kitchen – https://parents.nea.org/keeping-kids-curious/stem-lessons-kitchen/

Art

Art Lessons – https://cassiestephens.blogspot.com

Drama

Theatrefolk – https://www.theatrefolk.com/free-resources (acting, playwriting, Shakespeare)

History

National Archives – https://www.archives.gov/education (working with primary sources)

History For Kids – https://www.historyforkids.net

Music

Incredibox – https://www.incredibox.com (create your own music)

Classics for Kids – https://www.classicsforkids.com/parents.html (games, composers)

Physical Education

Active For Life – https://activeforlife.com/200-activities-you-can-do-with-kids-at-home/

Questions about Youth Sports – https://www.aspenprojectplay.org/coronavirus-and-youth-sports

At Home Workouts – https://blog.teamsnap.com/general-sports/

Planning and Planting a Kids Garden – http://www.mykidsadventures.com/kids-gardening/

Health

Coronavirus Updates – https://cdc.gov/coronaviurs/2019-ncov

Daily Meditations for Stress Relief – https://healthjourneys.com

Indoor Activities to Release Kids Energy – https://www.pbs.org/parents/thrive/8-indoor-activities-to-release-kids-energy

Pinterest – fun activities to do at home, google science projects to try out

There are so many amazing life skills that your student won’t be taught in a traditional school setting that you now can teach them. Have your kids help you bake or cook dinner, clean, do laundry, check the oil, remove and change a tire, mow the lawn, or balance a check book!

What other resources do you want? Submit them in the question box below. We’ll find them and add them to this page. Keep checking back for more activities!

Best Summer Events for Kids | Joplin MO | Compass Academy Network

Missouri & Kansas

Questions? We’d love to help.